RSS Feed

Small Steps Are Enough

Posted on

 

 

A short while ago, I was reading a discussion happening somewhere on the internet where one person was arguing that it’s not good enough to take small steps towards being more active, like taking the stairs instead of the elevator. Apparently, exercise only counts if done in long stretches to the point of dripping sweat. This is obviously an ableist way of thinking, because someone might want to be more active but is only able to move so much due to pain or fatigue. Telling people that small steps aren’t good enough isn’t going to magically make everyone start doing more, it’s going to make a lot of people give up because they can’t do more than what they’re already doing. 

I mentioned in my last post that I’m going to start exercising at home more. I can’t work out for very long stretches. I have foot pain from spending my day job on my feet on a hard concrete floor, and while I do what I can with decent sneakers and good insoles, there’s a limit to how long a person can stand on a hard floor without feeling pain. Sometimes I think it’s just because of my weight, but even the thin woman I work with say it’s really hard for them. I have to find a balance between what I want to do to feel better, and what I can physically can do. If I believed that small steps were not good enough, I would just give up. Small steps are all I can do. I already have to do some things by necessity, like stand for hours at work and take the stairs at home because we live on the top floor and don’t have an elevator. When it comes time to do the things I actually want to do, I can’t last very long, but I do what I can so that I feel good and don’t push myself to the point of injury. 

Over the last year or so there has been a bigger focus in the media about the dangers of sitting all day. Sitting in offices at work, sitting in front of the t.v. at home, sitting, sitting, terrifying sitting! It’s ironic to me, because as a fat person who doesn’t get to sit at work at all, I know that I would feel better if I had a desk job, because my feet would not be killing me when I got off work and I would be able to be more active in my spare time. As it is, I can only take those small steps. And that is enough. It’s enough for me to work out without worrying about losing weight. It’s enough for me to only exercise five or ten minutes at a time because that’s what I can do. It’s enough to take a leisurely walk in the park. Whatever you want to do, whatever you’re able to do, don’t ever listen to anyone that tells you it’s not enough. 

 

Leave a Reply

